These are widely repeated statements about NVIDIA that could not be traced to a primary source, or that turned out to describe something different from what they are usually taken to mean. None of them appears anywhere in this piece. Publishing what was refused is a better test of a dataset than publishing what survived.
NVIDIA acquired Groq for $20 billion in December 2025.
Could not verify as an acquisition or as a company-disclosed price. NVIDIA issued no press release and no SEC filing, and Jensen Huang stated in writing to employees that 'we are not acquiring Groq as a company'. The roughly $20 billion figure comes solely from CNBC citing Groq lead investor Alex Davis. The underlying non-exclusive licence and talent transfer is verified and included as an event; the characterisation as an acquisition and the price are not.
Microsoft invested exactly $10 billion in OpenAI in January 2023.
Could not verify from a primary source. Microsoft and OpenAI both described only a 'multiyear, multibillion dollar' investment and Microsoft explicitly declined to give a figure. The $10 billion number originates with Bloomberg and Semafor reporting and has never been confirmed by either party. The event is included with the amount flagged as reported rather than disclosed.
DeepSeek trained R1 for under $6 million.
Could not verify. The sub-$6 million figure circulated in January 2025 press coverage referred to a final training run of the V3 base model and excluded prior research, infrastructure, staff and the cost of the GPU fleet used. Wall Street questioned the figure at the time. The market reaction to R1 is verified and included; the cost claim is not.
Jensen Huang hand-delivered the first DGX-1 to OpenAI in 2016, seeding the NVIDIA-OpenAI relationship.
Could not verify to the sourcing standard within this pass. NVIDIA's September 2025 OpenAI announcement references a collaboration 'going back to 2016' and 'the first DGX supercomputer', but no contemporaneous NVIDIA newsroom item, filing or wire report confirming the specific delivery event was located.
The 15 per cent H20 China revenue-share arrangement was codified into US regulation in 2025.
Actively contradicted. NVIDIA CFO Colette Kress stated on the Q2 fiscal 2026 earnings call that US government officials had expressed an expectation of receiving 15 per cent of licensed H20 revenue but that no regulation codifying such a requirement had been published, and NVIDIA disclosed litigation risk from the arrangement in its SEC filing. Only the later H200 25 per cent levy was formalised by rule.
NVIDIA holds approximately 90 per cent of the AI accelerator or data-centre GPU market.
Could not verify from a primary or auditable source. The 80-90 per cent range appears widely in secondary commentary with no consistent methodology, no defined denominator (merchant GPUs only, or including internally consumed TPUs, Trainium, MTIA and Maia), and no primary market-research citation. NVIDIA does not disclose market share in its filings.
Stargate has committed or deployed $500 billion of capital.
Overstated relative to the source. OpenAI's own announcement describes an intent to invest $500 billion over four years with $100 billion deployed immediately. Subsequent reporting indicates the joint venture entity itself had developed no data centres and that OpenAI routed activity through bilateral site-level deals. The $500 billion is an aspirational target, not committed capital, and is recorded as such in the event.
SoftBank paid approximately $500-600 million for Graphcore.
Could not verify. Terms were explicitly not disclosed by either party; Graphcore CEO Nigel Toon declined to confirm figures at the announcement briefing. The $500 million and $600 million numbers appear only in unsourced secondary reports. The acquisition itself is verified and included without a price.
Blackwell shipments were delayed in 2024 by a packaging or mask design flaw requiring a respin.
Could not verify. The claim originated in trade and press reporting in mid-2024 and was never confirmed by NVIDIA in a filing or announcement. NVIDIA's Q4 fiscal 2025 disclosure of $11 billion of Blackwell revenue in the first full quarter is inconsistent with a material delay, and analyst notes anticipating a mid-2025 slip were explicitly addressed by that result.
BIS has published the replacement rule promised when the AI Diffusion Rule was rescinded in May 2025.
Could not verify that a replacement rule has been issued. BIS stated in May 2025 that it planned to publish a regulation formalising the rescission and would issue a replacement rule in future. As of the May 2026 BIS guidance clarifying that pre-existing November 2023 licence requirements remain in force, no replacement framework rule was identified.
The 2018 post-crypto correction cost NVIDIA roughly $700 million of gaming revenue.
Not a company-disclosed figure. NVIDIA disclosed $57 million of charges for components and chips in Q3 fiscal 2019 and a Q4 guidance of $2.70 billion against $3.40 billion consensus. A sell-side estimate of roughly $600 million of mid-range Pascal channel inventory circulated at the time but is an analyst estimate, not a disclosure. The verifiable guidance gap of approximately $700 million is recorded instead.
The AMD Helios rack launched in July 2026 at approximately $5.25 million per rack.
Could not verify to the sourcing standard. The launch date and price appear only on a low-authority secondary site. AMD's own materials confirm Helios and MI400 as 2026 products and AMD investor relations confirms the initial 1 gigawatt OpenAI MI450 deployment beginning in the second half of 2026; those verified elements are recorded in the MI350 and AMD-OpenAI events instead.
Cerebras withdrew its IPO in 2025.
Could not verify. The only source located was a low-authority aggregator page. No SEC filing, wire report or Cerebras statement confirming a withdrawal was found, so no Cerebras event is included in the timeline.
Meta will spend $600 billion on capital expenditure in 2026.
Conflates two figures. The $600 billion is Meta's stated commitment to spend in the United States by 2028 on data centres and supporting infrastructure, cited in CNBC's coverage of the NVIDIA partnership. Meta's own Q1 2026 release guides 2026 capital expenditure including finance-lease principal to $125-145 billion, which is the figure recorded.
NVIDIA's China revenue was 26 per cent of total in fiscal 2022 and 21 per cent in fiscal 2023.
Could not verify against the filings within this pass, and the two disclosure bases are not comparable. The FY2026 10-K recast prior periods onto a customer-headquarters basis only back to fiscal 2024. Bloomberg reporting supports the general statement that China supplied roughly a quarter of revenue as recently as 2022, and that is the form in which it is recorded; the specific fiscal 2022 and 2023 percentages are not asserted.
NVIDIA had 7 million CUDA developers as of GTC 2026
No such figure was stated in the GTC 2026 keynote transcript or in Tom's Hardware's live blog of that keynote. NVIDIA appears to have stopped quoting a headline developer count at GTC 2026, emphasising installed base instead. The number is a plausible extrapolation but is not sourced, so it is excluded.
Microsoft Maia 200 suffered a 7-month delay due to HBM3e supply constraints and TSMC N3P yield issues (68% → 82%), and future Maia generations will use Intel 18A with test chips already taped out
Sole source (news.lavx.hu) is internally inconsistent — a January 2026 article that dates a future Phoenix deployment to 'Q3 2024' and cites 'Gartner Q1 2024' for a 2026 growth rate. Not corroborated anywhere else. Treated as unreliable.
SoftBank injected an additional $457 million into Graphcore in April 2026
Appears only in a search-engine synthesis with no retrievable primary source or named publication. Retained in the competitorPrograms section explicitly flagged as unverified, but rejected as a usable data point until a primary filing or credible report is located.
IDC puts NVIDIA's 2026 data-centre AI chip share at 80-81%
Widely repeated with near-identical phrasing across several low-authority sites (cryptobriefing, axis-intelligence, commandlinux) but no primary IDC press release, report ID or IDC-hosted page was located. Retained in aiAcceleratorShare with sourceQuality 'LOW' and a verification flag, but should not be cited in the case study without the underlying IDC report.
The 2026 AI accelerator market will be $200B+ and NVIDIA's share will fall to 75%
Sourced to 'Silicon Analysts' (siliconanalysts.com), which is an SEO content site rather than a recognised research firm. The figures are forward projections presented without methodology. Not credible under the stated sourcing rules.
Axis Intelligence's 'NGISI (Nvidia GPU Installed Base Supremacy Index) stood at 85.1 for Q1 2026'
A proprietary composite index invented by an SEO publisher, with no published methodology and no independent adoption. Not a market-structure fact.
AMD unveiled the full MI400 lineup at an 'Advancing AI 2025' event in May 2026, and OpenAI was disclosed as anchor customer in June 2025 per a June 2026 announcement
Source (jaredwatkins.com) contains self-contradictory dates mixing 2025 and 2026 events. The verified AMD timeline from AMD's own newsroom and multiple trade outlets is used instead.
Meta's next four MTIA generations are named MTIA 300, 400, 450 and 500
Meta's own April 2026 announcement says only 'four new generations of MTIA chips within the next two years' without naming them. The numeric names appear only in secondary aggregation. The count is recorded; the names are rejected.
Broadcom's FY2025 exit AI backlog was $73 billion and FY2027 AI revenue from its three largest customers will be $60-90 billion
Not rejected outright — retained in the data with confidence 'reported'/'estimate' — but flagged here because both come from secondary summaries of the Q4 FY2025 earnings call rather than the primary transcript or press release. Confirm against the transcript before publication.
Full JPR quarterly AIB market share series for 2016-2022 and 2024-Q1 2025
Not obtainable. JPR publishes only percentage-point deltas and selective levels in its free press releases; the complete quarterly share history is behind its paid AIB report ($3,000 single issue, $6,000 annual subscription). No figures were interpolated or estimated to fill these gaps.
AMD Data Center segment revenue for 2015-2020
Does not exist. AMD reported only 'Computing and Graphics' and 'Enterprise, Embedded and Semi-Custom' segments in those years and never restated them onto a Data Center basis. Any 2015-2020 AMD data-centre figure in circulation is an analyst reconstruction, not a company disclosure.
Intel AI-accelerator (Gaudi) revenue for any year
Never disclosed by Intel as a financial line item. The only quantitative public anchor is the $500M Gaudi 3 target for 2024, which Intel publicly abandoned in November 2024 — a target, not revenue.
Gartner-attributed NVIDIA AI accelerator market share for any year
No Gartner figure specific to NVIDIA's AI accelerator share was located. Gartner appears in secondary sources only in relation to total semiconductor market size forecasts, which is a different question.
Mercury Research AI accelerator or data-centre GPU share figures
Mercury Research publishes x86 CPU share and GPU share data, but no AI-accelerator-specific Mercury figure was located in this pass.
GPU-only or AI-only capex splits for Microsoft, Alphabet, Amazon or Meta
None of the four disclose this. Any 'AI capex' figure attributed to them is an analyst allocation, not a company disclosure.